Feared

The darkness isn’t dark anymore
And the light feels more like light
Instead of black and gray inside
I no longer fear the white.

A strange hope indeed, this fear
This fearsome, fearless hope
‘Tis like nothing ever felt or feared
This thing I’ve feared the most.

This white that chased away the gray
Left its holy mark on me –
That I would know from long ago
That I surely would be free.

But freedom is a troubled place
One with no place for me
But would it be better to never love
Or be trapped here for eternity?

I tell you “yes” while my heart says no
And she must have the final word
For she could have never taught
Without some witness from the world.

Leave a Reply

