Am I Beautiful?

I look at the mirror
And ask,
“Am I beautiful?”
“No,” it replies,
“Your head is too big,”
“And your eyes too small.”
So I go my way sadder than before.

I look at my friend
And ask,
“Am I beautiful?”
“Kind of,” she says,
“You have spots on your nose,”
“But your eyes are beautiful.”
So I go my way slightly happier than before.

I look at God
And ask,
“Am I beautiful?”
“My daughter,” He replies,
“Of course you are beautiful.”
“Your head may be large, but you have a brain inside.”
“The spots on your nose make you unique.”
“Your eyes may be small, but they are pretty and blue.”
“I created you and I love you.”
So I go my way with a joy that fills my soul.

Leave a Reply

