And All The World a Dream

This is a poem based on my favorite chapter in the fourth book of the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini: “And All the World a Dream”.

Slipping away,
Dream after dream
Horror after horror
Thing after thing.

Then my mind is filled with peace
A vineyard, green and bright
You are mine, we are in love
And I give up the fight.

But it is not to be, my dear
For all this world is but a dream
It is swept away with the knife in your side
And you cannot hear my screams.

I feel your presence in my mind
As I laugh at fate, laugh at fear
Defeating foe on foe
For I know that you are near.

Leave a Reply

