English Mornings

Sometimes I think on rainy days

That they may be a bit like England’s.

You might think I’m crazy,

For I have never been to England,

Never seen an English storm,

But I have heard from books and such

That they might be a bit like this.

 

And on certain sunny days I think

When the sun’s just peeping through the trees,

That they might be like English mornings.

You might think that’s like

Loving someone you’ve never met,

But I have heard from movies and things,

That they might be a bit like this.

 

You know the movies where

The old-fashioned boy

Gets his old-fashioned girl

And they share a kiss in the sunny morning fog?

That’s why I call them “English mornings”

And they are just fine to me.

 

And do you know the stories

Where the heroine wanders the moors

Crying for her lost love?

That’s why I call dreary days “English weather”

And they are just fine to me.

Leave a Reply

