The New Australia – An Ode to Kepler 22-b

I wrote this poem last year when I was in a space-y mood. It’s one of my favorites. Enjoy.

would you move to a planet far away
leaving everything behind?
would you move to a planet far away
knowing you’ll be the only one there?
would you move to a planet far away
if you had no reason to stay?
i would leave if i
had nothing left to lose
no family or friends to speak of
just me and my mind
and sometimes lacking that
i would leave if i had done
unspeakable wrongs
and couldn’t show my face
but i have too many things
to worry about here
to even consider this fate
to even think of this strange new place
as somewhere i might call home
for i will never be
quite so alone

Leave a Reply

